Town Hall open to public by appointment only

Election Results History

The Town of Cape Elizabeth has an index of news articles summarizing election results since November 1998:

July 14, 2020 School budget passes, Cape Democrats choose Millett in District 30 primary
March 3, 2020 Cape Democrats favor Biden; reject move to reinstate exemptions for vaccinations
Nov. 5, 2019 Penny Jordan, Caitlin Jordan re-elected to Town Council Nov. 5
June 11, 2019 Voters approve 2019-20 school budget
Nov. 6, 2018 Garvin, Deveraux and Gabrielson win Town Council seats; Anne Carney elected to State House
June 12, 2018 School budget passes validation; District 30 Democrats choose Carney as candidate for State House
Nov. 7, 2017 Randall, Christopher Straw elected to Town Council
June 13, 2017 School budget for 2017-18 passes validation
Nov. 8, 2016 Cape voters favor Clinton, re-elect Monaghan to State House, choose Jordans for Town Council
June 14, 2016 Voters approve Recycling Center bond; OK school budget for 2016-17
Nov. 3, 2015 Sullivan, Lennon, Garvin win Town Council seats; Scifres, Altenburg and Voltz elected to School Board
June 9, 2015 Voters approve 2015-16 school budget
Nov. 4, 2014 Library bond passes; Powers, Morrissey elected to School Board
June 10, 2014 Cape voters approve of $23.2 school budget for 2014-15
Nov. 5, 2013 Jordan and Moore re-elected to municipal office; MacAuslan and Hubbs get nod for first terms
May 14, 2013
School budget for 2014 passes May 14 validation
Nov. 6, 2012
Cape voters reject library bond, re-elect Monaghan-Derrig to State House and favor King for U.S. Senate
June 12, 2012
School budget for 2013 passes validation; Dill favored by Cape voters for Democratic nod to U.S. Senate
Nov. 8, 2011
Cape voters favor same-day voter registration, disapprove of new gambling facilities in state referendum election
August 16, 2011
Monaghan-Derrig wins special State House District 121 election
May 10, 2011
School Budget passes handily; Cape Elizabeth voters favor Dill for State Senate
November 3, 2010
Governali, Jordan win Town Council seats; Monaghan-Derrig and Michael Moore will serve on School Board
November 2, 2010
Cape voters favor Cutler, send Dill back to State House
June 8, 2010
Voters disapprove of Fort Williams parking fee, OK $20.7 million school budget
Nov. 3, 2009
Walsh, Lennon, Sullivan win three-year council terms; three newcomers sent to School Board
May 12, 2009
School budget for 2009-10 passes validation
January 27, 2009
Jordan wins Town Council seat
November 11, 2008
Cape voter turnout 80 percent for Nov. 4 election
November 4, 2008
Townsend wins three-year School Board term, Sherman new face on Town Council
September 2, 2008
School budget passes
July 22, 2008
School budget validation fails a second time
June 10, 2008
School budget validation fails
November 6, 2007
Lynch, McKenney re-elected, Kennealy to join School Board
June 13, 2007
Cape voters support both bond issues in state referendum election
November 28, 2006 Recount upholds Dill election to State House seat
November 7, 2006 Cape voters say 'no' to Fort Williams parking fee, elect Dill to State House
June 13, 2006 Short-cut road initiative passes in June 13 election
November 8, 2005 Swift-Kayatta, Dill win Town Council election
January 11, 2005 McKenney winner of special election by 6 votes
November 2, 2004 Goldman wins State House, next municipal election will be in November
June 8, 2004 Henry Adams elected to fill unexpired School Board term
May 4, 2004 Brigham, Millett win School Board seats
November 4, 2003 Voters approve school building referendums; elect Ray, West to School Board
June 10, 2003 Cape voters favor state bond issue
May 6, 2003 Backer, Mowles newcomers on Town Council
November 5, 2002 McLaughlin wins re-election to State House
June 11, 2002 Cianchette is clear pick of Cape Republicans for governor's race
May 7, 2002 Uncontested races, light turnout hold no surprises in municipal election
November 6, 2001 Cape favors bond issues
May 1, 2001 Lynch ousts incumbent Watson for council seat
November 7, 2000 McLaughlin wins Cape seat in State House
June 13, 2000 Lack of contests draws few to primaries
May 2, 2000 Write-in takes third School Board seat
March 7, 2000 McCain, Bradley take Cape
November 2, 1999 Capers turn out in droves to defeat Question 1
May 4, 1999 Rowe, Entwistle win School Board; Swift-Kayatta, Roberts go to Town Council
November 3, 1998 Carson wins vacant council seat, pool renovations win handily


applications icon

Forms &

location icon


  • Election Day polling is held at Cape Elizabeth High School - Directions
  • For Absentee Balloting and Voter Information, Town Clerk's Office, 320 Ocean House Road - Directions
contact icon


  • Debra Lane, Assistant Town Manager and Town Clerk
  • Phone:
  • FAX:
  • Mailing Address:
    PO Box 6260
    Cape Elizabeth, ME
  • Business Hours: Mondays, 7:30 a.m.-5 p.m.; Tuesdays-Fridays, 7:30 a.m.- 4 p.m.
  • Location:
    Town Hall, 320 Ocean House Road - Directions
reminder icon

Related Links