Dog Licenses for 2023 are Now Due

Dog licenses for 2023 are now due.  Maine law requires dogs six months of age and older to be licensed.  Dog owners without a license can now be cited.  To avoid a $25.00 per-dog late fee, please register your dog by than January 31, 2023.   

When registering your dog you must bring your dog's current rabies certificate and proof of spaying or neutering. Fees for registration are $11 male or female; $6 spayed or neutered; a dollar more for online registration.  A $25 late fee, per dog, will be assessed for renewals made after Jan. 31, 2022.  If you have any questions, please call the Tax Office at 207-799-0881.


1. Visit the Town Hall Tax Office

2. Register online using the state's online registration*

* Dogs registered after January 31, 2023 must be registered at the Town Hall Tax Office.

Up to 90 percent of registration fees go directly to the State of Maine Animal Welfare Program to support investigations of cruelty to animals. Required rabies certification also combats increasing instances of rabies in Maine, safeguarding public safety and health for everyone.

More: Latest News