Town Hall open to public by appointment only
News icon




Bag, polystyrene ordinance earns Recycling Committee 2018 'eco-Excellence' award

Photo of eco_Excellence Award recipient from Cape Elizabeth
Pictured receiving a 2018 eco-Excellence Award are, from left, Robert Malley, town director of Public Works; Recycling Committee members Aubrey Miller, Nicole Boucher, Chelsea Torrey, Kara Lavender Law (chair) and Tim Trachimowicz; Troy Moon, city of Portland sustainability coordinator and ecomaine Board of Directors chair; Matthew Sturgis, town manager; and, Kevin Roche, ecomaine general manager Photo courtesy ecomaine
Cape Elizabeth's Recycling Committee has been honored by ecomaine, the regional recycling and trash-to-energy organization, with a 2018 eco-Excellence award.

The seven-member committee received one of 18 awards presented to individuals, nonprofit organizations and businesses for their commitment to sustainability and community throughout 2017, presented at a ceremony in Portland March 6, 2018.

The committee was nominated for the award by Matthew Sturgis, Cape Elizabeth town manager, and Robert Malley, director of Public Works, for leading the effort to enact a townwide ban on polystyrene foam packaging and fee for single-use plastic bags. [news article]

"They created the draft ordinance and worked with the Ordinance Committee and other members of the Town Council to get the ordinance passed," said Malley, who serves as the committee's staff resource.

The eco-Excellence Awards is an annual program organized by ecomaine, a nonprofit, municipally owned single-sort recycling and waste-to-energy operation, to recognize businesses, schools or individuals in any of ecomaine's 73 member communities.

Winners are selected based on the effectiveness, increased awareness, community impact, and ease of replication of their sustainability programs or initiatives.