News icon




New town manager takes oath of office

Click play button to view Matthew Sturgis' swearing in as town manager on Jan. 30, 2017. (video courtesy Jamie Garvin)

Matthew Sturgis took his oath of office as Cape Elizabeth's sixth town manager on Jan. 30, 2017.

Town Clerk Debra Lane administered the oath of office in front of Sturgis' new office at Town Hall, just around the filing cabinet from his previous office as Cape tax assessor.

Sturgis, Cape Elizabeth tax assessor since 2001, was chosen from a field of 38 applicants in a nationwide search following the retirement of Michael McGovern.

He is is the sixth manager to serve under the council-manager charter adopted in 1967.

The Town Council is expected to meet next month to determine next steps for filling the tax assessor position.

Town Managers

Allen M. Marks -1959-1970
James G. Pratt -1971 (Acting)
Kenneth H. Neipert- 1971-1973
Quentin B. Spector- 1973-1978
Herbert B. Dennison- 1978 (Acting)
John E. Henchey-1978-1985
Michael K. McGovern -1985-2016
Debra M. Lane - 2016 (Acting)
Matthew E. Sturgis - 2017-