News icon




Dog licenses, renewals for 2017

Dog licenses for 2016 expired on Dec. 31, 2016. All license renewals must be completed by Jan. 31, 2017 - after Jan. 31 there will be a $25 late fee per dog.

Maine law requires all dogs to be licensed. When registering your dog you must bring your dogs’ current Maine rabies certificate and proof of spaying or neutering.

Fees for registration are $11 male or female; $6 spayed or neutered; a dollar more for online registration.

Up to 90 percent of registration fees go directly to the State of Maine Animal Welfare Program to support investigations of cruelty to animals. Required rabies certification also combats increasing instances of rabies in Maine, safeguarding public safety and health for everyone.

If you have any questions please call 207-799-0881. To register your dog online, please go to: Online registration is not available after Jan. 31.