## Cape Elizabeth, Maine – Recycling Committee Minutes of March 2, 2010 meeting

Members present: Mary Brock, David Ernst, Jennifer Hansen, John Kane, Sharon Roberts. Members absent: Mike Pulsifer, Greg Walsh. Administration: Bob Malley. Guests: Penny Jordan, Town Councilor; Brendan Conway and Tim Cronin, Cape-Eco.

Meeting called to order at 7:05 pm. Minutes of the January 28 meeting were approved.

Cape Elizabeth's recycling rates were reviewed, both for the years 2006-2009 by way of a graph created by Jennifer (a fairly steady increase), and for the month of January (35.9%). Also reviewed and discussed were the recycling rates for the schools.

The majority of the meeting involved a planned discussion with Penny Jordan, Town Councilor, about the concept of pay per bag. Penny explained some of the Town Council's 2010 goals with regard to reducing expenses, and in particular how this could dovetail with the town efforts to increase our recycling rate. The idea of pay per bag is being re-introduced as a possible way to accomplish both of these aims. The discussion was more conceptual than logistical. She asked the Recycling Committee if it would be willing to re-explore this concept and later this spring to come up with a recommendation for or against implementing such a program. The committee agreed to take this up at its next meeting, and will review the subject in detail.

The committee acknowledged the laudable environmental efforts of both the CEHS Environmental Club, the winner of ecomaine's 2010 ecoexcellence award, and also Peter Vickerman and Mary Page, nominated by John Kane for the same award.

Brendan Conway and Tim Cronin, interested citizens, are from Cape-Eco, a new recycling and waste removal company beginning operations in Cape Elizabeth. They were present to learn more about the town's recycling program/efforts and to explain their services.

Greg Walsh has written the most recent recycling article, to appear in the next issue of the Courier.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 pm. The **next meeting will take place on Thursday, March 25 at 7 pm,** in the Public Works Building.

Respectfully submitted, David Ernst, secretary.