Meeting Minutes

-- Regular Meeting Sept. 12, 2000

MEETING MINUTES

The regular meeting of the School Board was held on Tuesday, September 12, 2000, at 7:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers.

School Board members present were:

George Entwistle, Chairman

Jennifer DeSena

Elaine Moloney

Marie Prager

James Rowe

Susan Steinman

Kevin Sweeney

Dr. Thomas Forcella, Superintendent of Schools

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Chairman George Entwistle.

Others present included: Peter Dawson, Nancy Hutton, Tom Eismeier, Claire LaBrie, Pauline Aportria, Sue Weatherbie, Sarah Nelson, Kirsten Barton

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Chairman Entwistle
- 2. Adjustments to agenda

There were no adjustments to the agenda.

3. Approval of School Board Minutes

The minutes of the regular meeting held on August 23, 2000 were approved as presented.

4. Comments by Student Representatives

Sarah Nelson and Kirsten Barton were introduced as the High School representatives to the School Board for the coming school year. They reported on items of interest from the students' perspective at the High School.

5. COMMUNICATIONS

There were no items under communications.

6. COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

There were no comments from the public.

7. RECOGNITION The certificates of recognition were presented by Superintendent Forcella and Chairman Entwistle.

7a. Liz Allen, currently a 9th grader at the high school, was recognized as the recipient of the "State of Maine Secretary of State's 8th Grade Citizenship Award". The award is presented to an outstanding 8th grade student. It was awarded at the end of the 1999-2000 school year.

7b. Ingrid Stressenger was recognized for her selection as one of three finalist for the State of Maine Presidential Award for Excellence in Science and Math Teaching. Sponsored by the National Science Foundation, the final award will be presented later in the school year.

8. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

8a. The Superintendent presented a brief update on the Future Direction Planning Initiative. He explained that Action Teams are being formed to do strategic planning. An orientation meeting will be held later this month.

9. PRINCIPALS' REPORTS

Each of the building principals reported that the school year is off to a good start and commented on activities going on in their respective schools.

10. SCHOOL BOARD SUBCOMMITTEES AND REPORTS

10a. Finance Subcommittee

Finance Subcommittee Chairman Kevin Sweeney reported that the subcommittee met prior to the school board meeting where they signed warrants, reviewed appropriations reports, and were given a financial update by Business Manager Pauline Aportria.

10b. Policy Subcommittee

Policy Subcommittee Chairperson Jennifer DeSena reported that the first meeting of the committee for this school year was held on September 6 at noon. The meeting was spent deciding on the areas of focus for the year. Those areas include: Special Education changes, athletics, health, and non-resident teachers' children being allowed to attend school in Cape Elizabeth. The next meeting of the subcommittee will be on October 4 at noon.

10c. Planning Committee

Chairperson Marie Prager reported that the Facilities Committee has expanded to become the Planning Committee with four major areas of focus: facilities, technology, future direction planning, and maintenance. Looking at the long-term needs in each of these areas and the budgetary implications should help us see the "big picture". The committee membership will consist of 3 School Board members, the Superintendent, the President of the Teachers' Association, the Business Manager, and a member of the Town Council.

11. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

There was no unfinished business for consideration.

12. NEW BUSINESS

12a. Consideration of the superintendent's nominations to athletic fee positions

Dr. Forcella nominated: Don Burke - 8th Grade Soccer; Drew Riddle - 7th Grade Soccer; Sue Crosby - 7th Grade Girls Soccer; Heidi Larosse - Field Hockey; Tim Thompson - J.V. Girls Soccer; Tina Vermiglio - 8th Grade Girls Soccer; Gerry McQueeney - Cross Country; Susan Ray - Tennis; Joe Doane - Cross Country

Jennifer DeSena made a motion to accept the Superintendent's nominations. Jim Rowe seconded. The motion was approved 7-0.

12b.. Consideration of the superintendent's nominations to cocurricular fee positions

Dr. Forcella nominated:

High School:

Kathy Hamblen - Special Education Department Head; Hazel Raby - Fall Art Club

Middle School:

Rachel Starr - Art Friday 50 hours @ \$10.75; Mary Beth Benoit - S.A.T. \$600;

Mary Smaha - S.A.T. \$600; Sally Tammaro - Student Council 95 hours @ \$10.75; Lydia Schildt - Student Council 95 hours @ \$10.75; Carlee Bean - Volunteer Club 30 hours @ \$10.75; Margaret Welch - Speech 50 hours @ \$10.75

Rachel Starr - Debate 50 hours @ \$10.75

System-wide

Carlee Bean and Marilyn Dale - Special Olympics/Soccer 20 hours @\$10.75,

Special Olympics/Basketball 20 hours @ \$10.75, and Special Olympics/Spring Events 60 hours @ \$10.75; Jason Lund - E-mail Administrator 103 hours @ \$10.75; Wendy Derzaweic -

Webmaster

Mentors for teachers with conditional or provisional certificates:

Ingrid Stressinger, Susan Saffer (for Rebecca Kurty and Debra Butterworth), Richard Rothlisberger (for half year for Patsy Cobb), William Brewington, Michael Efron, Betsy Nilsen, Ray Cooper, Claire Ramsbotham, Margaret Welch, Cheryl Higgins, Suzanne Janelle, Nancy Murphy, Steve Price, Therese Roberts, Deborah Jordan Pearson, Roger Rioux, Betty Mullen, Kathleen Riva

12c. Consideration of the appointment of the school physician

Dr. Forcella recommended that Jeffrey Saffer, M.D. be appointed as the school physician. Jennifer DeSena made a motion to appoint Dr. Saffer to the position. Marie Prager seconded. The motion was approved 7-0.

12d. Approval to receive and spend all federal and state grants for the 2000-2001 school year

Kevin Sweeney made a motion seconded by Jenniferr DeSena to grant the necessary School Board approval to receive and spend all federal and state grant funds for the 2000-2001 school year. The motion was approved 7-0.

Chairman Entwistle announced dates of upcoming meetings involving the Board and its subcommittees.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas A. Forcella, Ed. D.

Superintendent of Schools

Return to top