calendar icon

Holidays and Closures


Subject to change
Date Day of the Week Holiday Closures
12/24/2019 Tuesday Christmas
12/25/2019 Wednesday Christmas Town office, Thomas Memorial Library, Recycling Center, Richards Pool, fitness center closed. Recycling Center open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 26
12/31/2019 Tuesday New Year's Eve Closures TBD
1/1/2020 Wednesday New Year's
  • Town office, Thomas Memorial Library, Recycling Center closed.
  • Recycling Center open Thursday, Jan. 2, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • See Community Services website for pool, fitness center hours
1/2/2020 Thursday Recycling Center open Thursday, Jan. 2 Open Thursday due to New Year's Holiday closure
1/20/2020 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth Schools closed. Recycling Center open 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See Community Services for pool and fitness center hours
2/17/2020 Monday Presidents Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center open 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See Community Services website for pool, fitness center hours.
4/20/2020 Monday Patriots Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center open regular hours, 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See links for Pool, Fitness Center hours.
5/25/2020 Monday Memorial Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library, Richards Pool, Fitness Center, Cape Elizabeth schools, Recycling Center closed. Recycling Center will be open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Tuesday, May 26.
7/3/2020 Friday Fourth of July
  • Town offices CLOSED
  • Thomas Memorial Library CLOSED
  • Recycling Center OPEN 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
For hours at the Fitness Center and Donald L. Richards Pool, please check Community Services.
7/4/2020 Saturday Fourth of July
  • Recycling Center CLOSED
  • Thomas Memorial Library CLOSED
For hours at the Fitness Center and Donald L. Richards Pool, please check Community Services.
8/20/2020 Thursday Town Employee Training and Recognition Municipal offices including Town Hall (Tax Office, Town Clerk's Office and Assessing/Codes/Planning), Community Services, Thomas Memorial Library and Public Works will be closed for employee training and recognition luncheon. This is a regular day closure for the Recycling Center, and the Richards Pool is closed for annual cleaning. The fitness center will have regular hours.
9/7/2020 Monday Labor Day Town offices, Thomas Memorial Library, Recycling Center all closed. See Community Services for pool, fitness center closures. Recycling Center open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 8.
10/12/2020 Monday Indigenous Peoples Day Town offices, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth schools closed. Recycling Center open regular hours, 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See links for hours at the pool, fitness center. Town Council meeting scheduled for Oct. 12 will be rescheduled.
11/11/2020 Wednesday Veterans Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth schools closed. Recycling Center open regular hours, 8 a.m.- 5 p.m. See Pool and Fitness Center websites for adjusted hours.
11/26/2020 Thursday Thanksgiving Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center will have regular Thursday closure. See Community Services for pool and fitness center hours.
11/27/2020 Friday Thanksgiving Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center will be open regular Friday hours, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. See Community Services for pool and fitness center hours.