calendar icon

Holidays and Closures


Subject to change
Date Day of the Week Holiday Closures
5/27/2019 Monday Memorial Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library, Richards Pool, Fitness Center, Cape Elizabeth schools, Recycling Center closed. Recycling Center will be open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Tuesday, May 28.
7/4/2019 Thursday Fourth of July Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center will have its usual Thursday closure. For hours at the Fitness Center and Donald L. Richards Pool, please check Community Services.
8/15/2019 Thursday Town Employee Training and Recognition Municipal offices including Town Hall (Tax Office, Town Clerk's Office and Assessing/Codes/Planning), Community Services, Thomas Memorial Library and Public Works will be closed for employee training and recognition luncheon. This is a regular day closure for the Recycling Center, and the Richards Pool is closed for annual cleaning. The fitness center will have regular hours.
9/2/2019 Monday Labor Day Town offices, Thomas Memorial Library, Recycling Center all closed. See Community Services for pool, fitness center closures. Recycling Center open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 3.
10/7/2019 Monday Columbus Day Town offices, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth schools closed. Recycling Center open regular hours, 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See links for hours at the pool, fitness center. Town Council meeting scheduled for Oct. 7 will be rescheduled.
11/11/2019 Monday Veterans Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth schools closed. Recycling Center open regular hours, 10 a.m.- 7 p.m. See Pool and Fitness Center websites for adjusted hours.
11/21/2019 Thursday Thanksgiving Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center will have regular Thursday closure. See Community Services for pool and fitness center hours.
11/22/2019 Friday Thanksgiving Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center will be open regular Friday hours, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. See Community Services for pool and fitness center hours.
12/24/2019 Tuesday Christmas
12/25/2019 Wednesday Christmas Town office, Thomas Memorial Library, Recycling Center, Richards Pool, fitness center closed. Recycling Center open 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 26
1/1/2020 Wednesday New Year's
  • Town office, Thomas Memorial Library, Recycling Center closed.
  • Recycling Center open Thursday, Jan. 2, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • See Community Services website for pool, fitness center hours
1/2/2020 Thursday Recycling Center open Thursday, Jan. 2 Open Thursday due to New Year's Holiday closure
1/20/2020 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth Schools closed. Recycling Center open 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See Community Services for pool and fitness center hours
2/17/2020 Monday Presidents Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center open 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See Community Services website for pool, fitness center hours.
4/20/2020 Monday Patriots Day Town Hall, Thomas Memorial Library closed. Recycling Center open regular hours, 10 a.m.-7 p.m. See links for Pool, Fitness Center hours.