Town Hall open to public by appointment only
Town Seal

Town Council Members

Valerie Randall
Valerie A. Adams, Chair
23 Orchard Road
Term expires 12/2020

Valerie was elected to the Town Council in November 2017 and elected to chair the council for 2020. As chair she also heads the Portland Head Light Board of Directors, and has been appointed as one of the council's representatives on the School Board's building committee.

She served on the Ordinance Committee her first two years of her term, and represented the town on the Greater Portland Economic Development Commission and the Maine Municipal Association Legislative Policy Committee, as well as serving as delegate to the MMA convention.

A Portland native, Valerie is an attorney with Hanly Law in Portland, practicing primarily criminal defense, both state and federal, along with some immigration and appellate law. She studied various policy issues and means of policy analysis as part of her master's degree in public policy from the Muskie School of Public Service, University of Southern Maine.

Chris Straw
Christopher M. Straw
597 Shore Road
Term expires 12/2020

Chris was elected to the Town Council in 2017 and serves on the Ordinance Committee. He is a former chair of the Finance Committee.

He has lived in Cape Elizabeth since 2008 with his wife Hope and three children. He is the owner of Downeast Analytics LLC, an analytics consulting firm. At the time of his election Chris was a member of the Fort Williams Park Committee, and is a former member of the Board of Zoning Appeals and of the Fort Williams Park Foundation.

Valerie Deveraux
Valerie J. Deveraux
587 Shore Road
Term expires 12/2021

Valerie was elected to the Town Council in November 2018. She is serving as chair of the Appointments Committee for the second year in a row, and is a member of the Thomas Jordan Grants subcommittee.

Valerie is a California native who moved to Cape Elizabeth with her daughter in 2014. She has a bachelor's degree in psychobiology from the University of California, a law degree from Western State University College of Law, and completed a master's in conflict resolution at Fresno Pacific University. As an attorney she has experience in real estate, commercial litigation and family law, and as a mediator with the Courts of Maine and Maine Association of Mediators.. Locally she is a volunteer with the Cape High School speech-and-debate team, Project Graduation and theater boosters. She has three children and four grandchildren.

Jessica Sullivan
Jeremy A. Gabrielson
5 Rocky Knoll Road
Term expires 12/2021

Jeremy Gabrielson was elected in November 2018. This year he is representing the council ton the Fort Williams Park Master Plan Committee, in addition to his duties as a member of the Appointments Committee, as the council's representative to the Thomas Memorial Library Foundation, and to the Greater Portland Council of Governments General Assembly and Metro Coalition.

Prior to serving on the Town Council, Jeremy served on the Conservation Committee.

Jeremy has a background in community planning and economic development, having worked for the Island Institute and Washington County Council of Governments in eastern Maine. He currently works as a Conservation and Community Planner at Maine Coastal Heritage Trust. A graduate of Cape Elizabeth High School, Jeremy and his wife, Sarah, moved back to Cape Elizabeth in 2014. They have two children, who both attend Cape schools.

Jamie Garvin
James M. Garvin
76 Oakhurst Road
Term expires 12/2021

Jamie is serving as Finance Committee chair this year and is also a member of the Ordinance Committee. He also represents Cape Elizabeth as the Maine Municipal Association's convention delegate and on the MMA Legislative Policy Committee; the ecomaine Board; and, the Greater Portland Council of Governments Voice Committee. He is also one of two council representatives on the School Board's building committee, and as Finance Committee chair is also vice chair of the Museum of Portland Head Light directors.

Jamie was elected to a second term in November 2018 and served as council chair for the second time in 2019.

A former member and chair of the Recycling Committee before this election to the council in 2015, he is also the town's representative to the ecomaine board, and represents the Town Council on the School Department's Facilities Needs Assessment Committee.

Jamie works as a senior marketing manager at WEX. He previously held marketing positions with Harte Hanks, TD Bank, IDEXX, and L.L.Bean. Jamie’s wife Emily (Ornatek) grew up in Cape Elizabeth, and they have two children in the Cape schools.

He is a graduate of Syracuse University with a degree in broadcast journalism, and is also a former board member of the Cape Cottage Beach Association and has also given time to Little League and the schools.

Caitlin Jordan
Caitlin R. Jordan
83 Old Ocean House Road
Term expires 12/2022

Caitlin Jordan was re-elected to a rare fourth term on the Town Council in 2019. She was first elected in November 2010, and to second and third terms in 2013 and 2016.

This council year, Caitlin is a member of the Appointments Committee, the Thomas Jordan Grants subcommittee, and represents the council on the ad hoc state of Maine Bicentennial Celebration Committee. She is part of the 13th generation descended from the Rev. Robert and Sarah Jordan, who founded Cape Elizabeth. She resides on Old Ocean House Road.

She received her B.A. in psychology from New England College; and a J.D. from the University Of New Hampshire School Of Law and has opened a law practice here in Cape Elizabeth. She also serves as the business manager of Alewives Brook Farm. She has been an active member of the Cape Farm Alliance.

Penny Jordan
Penelope A. Jordan
21 Wells Road
Term expires 12/2022

Penny Jordan was re-elected to her second consecutive term on the council in 2019. She was first elected to fill an unexpired term in 2009, and elected again for a non-consecutive term in 2016.

Penny is heading the Ordinance Committee for a third time this council year, as well as serving as a member of the Thomas Jordan Grants subcommittee. She is also in her third consecutive year as Cape Elizabeth's representative on the regional Portland Jetport Noise Abatement Committee.

Penny has over 30 years experience in project management and business planning. She holds a master's degree in social work from Boston University, focusing on Community Organizing and Program Design. She is a lifelong resident of Cape Elizabeth.

In 1999 she rejoined the family business at Jordan's Farm on Wells Road. Penny and her siblings are the fourth generation to maintain Jordan's as a working farm.

Penny was instrumental in starting Cape Farm Alliance. She is on the board of Cumberland County Farm Bureau and Maine Farm Bureau. Penny is a member of the Maine Sustainable Agriculture Society (MESAS), is active in hunger prevention programs in Southern Maine and is currently leading an initiative to identify ways to end hunger in Maine by 2030.


reminder icon

Related Links

documents icon


contact icon


  • E-mail all Town Councilors
  • Mailing Address:
    PO Box 6260
    Cape Elizabeth, ME
  • Note: E-mails and letters sent to local officials are almost always public records. Limited exceptions may be found in the Maine statutes. The local media and other interested parties have from time to time asked for copies of e-mails and mailed correspondence. In sending an e-mail to any elected or appointed town official or school official, citizens should have no expectation of privacy