No. Credit cards may be used for online payments, but only cash and checks are accepted in the tax office.
Title and registration fees and sales tax are set by the state. Title fee is $33, and sales tax is 5.5% of the purchase price.
The State of Maine has authorized Cape Elizabeth to register certain automobiles, trucks and recreational vehicles. An excise tax is paid and kept by Cape Elizabeth. Other registration fees are collected, and forwarded to the State of Maine.
If purchased from a Maine Dealer:
If purchased in a private sale:
If previously registered out-of-state:
* Note: If a vehicle is sold or traded, the plates and registration should be retained. It may be advantageous to transfer the plates and excise credit when registering a new vehicle.
For first-time registrations:
Yes, Cape Elizabeth is participating in the State Bureau of Motor Vehicles "Rapid Renewal" program. For more information, see http://www.informe.org/bmv/rapid-renewal/
Cape Elizabeth collects real estate and personal property taxes twice per year, during the first weeks of April and October.
The Town's fiscal year is July 1 - June 30. The current 2020 - 2021 taxes are $19.92 per $1,000 of valuation, assessed at 80% of market value.
Boats: Boats expire annually in December. The excise tax is assessed based on the year, horsepower, length and use. A $1.00 town fee is charged for a renewal and $2.00 for a new registration.
All motorized watercraft on inland waters must display the milfoil sticker. A resident milfoil sticker is $10.00.
|10 HP and under||$15.00|
|11 HP - 50HP||$20.00|
|51 - 115 HP
Over 115 HP
|Personal Watercraft||$34.00 (Jet Ski, wave runner)|
ATVs: ATVs expire annually in June. The registration fee is $33.00, plus $1.00 town fee for a renewal and $2.00 for a new registration. ATVs are not charged an excise tax.
Snowmobiles: Snowmobiles expire annually in June. The registration fee is $45.00, plus $1.00 town fee for a renewal and $2.00 for a new registration. Snowmobiles are not charged an excise tax.
The Portland Water District bills water and sewer customers on a monthly basis. Payments are made directly to the District. However twice per year, December 1 and June 1, Portland Water District turns over past due sewer accounts to the Town for collection. Past due sewer accounts are collected in the same manner as past due real estate taxes. As with the tax collection process, the Town may also file a sewer lien on past due accounts. Ultimately the Town may foreclose on a property for unpaid sewer bills.
The State of Maine requires dogs or wolf hybrids, 6 months of age, to be registered annually on January 1st. Dog licenses are available in mid-October. The current Maine rabies certificate and neutering/spaying certificates are required. The license fee is $1 for a male/female or $6 for spayed/neutered dog. Online registrations are $1 extra. The license fee plus a $25 late fee, per dog, is assessed after Jan. 31.
The Town of Cape Elizabeth issues hunting and fishing licenses for residents. State law defines "Resident". The tax office will determine whether a resident qualifies for a resident license based on the definition. A driver's license or state identification card should be presented when applying for a license. A firearms hunter safety course card must be presented when obtaining an adult firearm license for the first time. If the hunter has not held an adult license since January 1, 1976, a firearm hunter safety course is required. An archery safety course card must be presented when obtaining an adult archery license for the first time. If the hunter has not held an adult license since January 1, 1980, an archery safety course is required. Click here for online hunting and fishing license registration
The tax office at 207-799-0881.