Marrying in the State of Maine - Couples Filing in the Town of Cape Elizabeth
|Contact Information:||Office Hours:|
|Town of Cape Elizabeth||Monday* - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.|
|Town Clerk||(* Monday's until 5:00 p.m.)|
|320 Ocean House Road|
|Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107|
Marriage intentions are filed by mail prior to the ceremony (4-6 weeks prior to the ceremony). The marriage license is issued by the Town Clerk by the couple coming into the office to sign the license or the license may be mailed to the couple, if time allows. If the license is mailed, the officiant will witness the couple’s signatures at the ceremony. Identification must be provided e.g. driver’s license, passport, military ID when couples sign in-person.
Advanced appointments must be scheduled for couples signing in-person.
Where to apply:
Residents of the State of Maine shall record notice of their intentions to marry in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which at least one of them resides. If only one of the parties resides in Maine, the parties shall record notice of their intentions to marry in the office of the clerk of the municipality in which the resident party resides. Once the intentions are filed and the license is issued, the parties are free to marry anywhere within the State of Maine. The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed.
Out-of-State Residents may file their intentions to marry in any municipal office however it is strongly recommended the couple file in the town/city where they will be married. Once the intentions are filed and the license is issued, the parties are free to marry within the State of Maine. The license is valid for a period of 90 days from the date the intentions are filed.
Intentions of Marriage
Couples recording their intentions of marriage shall submit an application; signatures must be notorized.
The filing fee is $40, payable to the Town of Cape Elizabeth.
If either party has been previously married, a certified copy of the death or divorce decree, whichever ended the previous marriage, must be presented to the clerk where the intentions of marriage are filed. The certified copy must be presented to the clerk prior to the issuance of the marriage license.
A certified copy of a divorce decree may be obtained from the clerk of courts in the county were the divorce was filed. The clerk of courts will certify the document using a seal. Photocopies are not accepted.
A certified copy of a death certificate may be obtained from the clerk in the town/city of the place of death. The clerk will certify the document using a seal. Photocopies are not accepted.
Couples will need certified copies of the marriage license following the ceremony whether or not there is a name change.
Certified copies are ordered when the marriage intentions are filed. Either party may complete the Vital Records Request Form. A fee of $15.00 plus $6.00 for each additional copy is required, payable to the Town of Cape Elizabeth.
When the marriage license is returned to the Town Clerk and deemed complete, the certified copies will be mailed to the couple.
State law effective Sept. 19, 2019 requires parties who marry in Maine to provide their proposed new name(s) on the marriage intentions if they plan to change their name(s) upon marriage.
The parties’ new name(s) will become effective once the marriage record has been registered with the State of Maine. Officiants must file the marriage license with the town/city clerk where the license was filed within 7 working days of the ceremony. Once the license has been deemed complete, and registered with the State of Maine, the new name(s) will become effective.
Return of Marriage License Following the Ceremony
The marriage license is completed by the officiant legally qualified to perform a marriage in Maine, and signed by two witnesses. The license must be typed or printed clearly in black ink.
The officiant is required to file the license within 7 working days of the ceremony with the clerk where the license was issued.
Upon receipt, the clerk will review the license for completeness. If there is missing information, errors or the license is illegible, the clerk will contact the officiant. The license is not deemed complete until all errors or omissions are corrected.