contact icon

Contact


  • Matthew Sturgis, Town Assessor
  • Phone:
    207-799-1619
  • Mailing Address:
    PO Box 6260
    Cape Elizabeth, ME
    04107
  • Business Hours: Mondays, 7:30 a.m.-5 p.m.; Tuesdays-Fridays, 7:30 a.m.- 4 p.m.
  • Location:
    Assessing/Codes/Planning office, second floor Town Hall, 320 Ocean House Road - Directions
links icon

Related Links


downloads icon

Downloads


Property Tax Exemptions

(Title 36, M.R.S.A. Sections 651-678)

There are several classes of exempt property (property upon which real estate taxes need not be paid) such as government-owned property. In addition, several other personal exemptions exist:

Click here for infomation on how assessment ratios affect exemption amounts

Homestead Exemption

-- The 124th Maine Legislature in 2010 revised the Homestead Exemption law. This law grants up to a $10,000 exemption from the assessed value of primary residences (Homesteads) in Maine. In order to qualify for the exemption, applicants must meet the following three requirements:
  1. The applicant must be a legal resident of the State of Maine on April 1 of the year of application.
  2. The applicant must have owned and occupied a homestead in Maine for a minimum of twelve months directly prior to April 1 of the year of application.
  3. The stated homestead must be the applicant's permanent place of residence.

Property owners who applied for and received this exemption in the current tax year and are still residence owners in Cape Elizabeth will receive it again this year. They do not need to reapply for it.

If a property owner has sold their home, and moved to another location in Cape Elizabeth, then they need to make a new application for their new residence. Or if a property owner has recently moved to Cape Elizabeth, and meets the above noted requirements, then they must apply to the Cape Elizabeth assessor to receive this exemption.

If a residence owner did not receive this exemption last year, they may apply for the coming year by obtaining an application from the Town assessor's Office on the second floor of the Town Hall, or by printing and filling out the form from the links on the Maine Revenue Services website. The assessor's Office will also mail out forms to those who request them. Applications must be received on or before April 1 to be eligible for the coming year.

Veteran's Exemption

- (Title 36, M.R.S.A. Section 653) A property owner may be eligible for a reduction in the valuation of their property if they:

  • Own a residence in Cape Elizabeth on April 1 of the tax year in question
  • Are a veteran who is not dishonorably discharged
  • Served during a recognized war period in the U.S. Armed Forces
  • Are over 62 or are an unremarried widow of a qualifying veteran

If the veteran is under 62 but is 100% disabled due to a service-connected disability, he/she might likewise qualify. In any case the veteran must fill out a form and provide proof of service and discharge, such as a copy of their DD214 form.

For veterans who served during World War II or later, the exemption is up to the just value of $6,000. For veterans serving prior, the exemption is up to the just value of $7,000. Paraplegic veterans may receive an exemption of up to the just value of $47,500 for a specially-adapted housing unit.

Applications for these exemptions are available in the assessor's office, and on the Maine Revenue Services website.

Blind Exemption

- (Title 36, M.R.S.A. Section 654) The residential real estate of residents who are legally blind as determined by the Department of Education Division for the Blind and Visually Impaired may be exempt up to the just value of $4000.

Applications for this exemption are available in the assessor's office, and on the Maine Revenue Services website